International Alternative Energy Center
International Alternative Energy Center
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Technical Help and Questions
 Help each other to help yourself grow
 Learning about capacitors
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author  Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

olddawgsrule
Advanced Member

USA
1434 Posts

Posted - November 13 2012 :  17:35:27  Show Profile  Visit olddawgsrule's Homepage Send olddawgsrule a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I'm new with capacitors.
I see many benefits in using them.

What I don't know is alot, but striving to understand.

I know they work as a short term battery.
I see they build up current that my low powered solar array can not supply to run my TSO.
I now know how to wire them to run in multiple configuration.

Testing them for failure is something else...

What I'm hoping for is a thread that will not only teach me, but will help many more of us to understand and work with capacitors.

Old in age, not in mind, so
'Teach me something new'!

Google AdSense

USA
Mountain View

ron_o

United Kingdom
1052 Posts

Posted - November 13 2012 :  19:19:52  Show Profile Send ron_o a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Capacitors , a practical guide ( in several postings )

We use capacitors ( mainly ) to act as batteries in our experiments but how much energy can our capacitors store ?

The equation Q = C x V where C = capacitance in Farads , V = voltage in Volts and Q = quanty of charge in Coulombs

so 1 Farad x 1 Volt = 1 Coulomb

I will return to Coulombs later

The next equation , E = 1/2 x C x V^2 where E = energy in joules , is far more useful

also note that 1 joule = 1 watt per second , so now we have an equation that allows electrical energy to also be expressed as a unit of work